To Top

It has been announced that Bill Murray will be awarded the Mark Twain Prize for Humor, an annual award that will be handed out in October in Washington. The Kennedy Center announced the news on Monday and said that Bill would be the 19th recipient of the prize.


The president of the Kennedy Center, Deborah F. Rutter, mentioned that he was being given the award for “unforgettable performances from an eclectic cast of characters that have become ingrained in our cultural vernacular.”

She went on to say:

“An award-winning writer, actor and comedian, his brilliant wit and infectious spirit continue to inspire our laughter across generations both on and off the screen. His unique brand of humor seems to defy time itself — always remaining relevant and relatable to new audiences — much like our award’s namesake.”

Bill released a statement in response, which of course included a humorous touch.

“I’m honored by this award and by its timing. I believe Mark Twain has rolled over in his grave so much for so long, that this news won’t disturb his peace.”

The award ceremony will be broadcasted at a later date for the public to see. Past recipients of the award include Eddie Murphy, Tina Fey, Jay Leno, Carol Burnett, Ellen DeGeneres, and Will Ferrell.



More in News